New to Clare’s Books?

Readers often ask me which book to start with from my backlist, so I’ve compiled a list of suggestions below. Of course, it all depends what you’re in the mood for. My pick if you haven’t tried me before is Before You Say I Do. It asks the question, what happens if you fall for your bridesmaid? The story deals with forbidden love & desire, and it pulses with emotion.

In the mood for a tale of love & redemption?

Try Nothing To Lose. It’s a perennial favourite, the story of finding love in a hopeless place. If sunshine after the rain is your bag, grab this one!

Want emotion with a side of angst?

You’re My Kind is a romance with both of those AND all the feels. Warning: it will make you want to eat cake. Or you could try Change Of Heart, a swashbuckling Scottish-based fauxmance with a delicious twist that will make ask: what would I do if that happened to me?

Want to read The L Word, but set in London?

The London Romance series might be the novels for you. Each book can be read as a standalone, but every one features feisty characters, British wit, hot sex, and far too much tequila. The series order is: London Calling, This London Love, A Girl Called London, The London Of Us, London, Actually, Made In London, Hot London Nights, Big London Dreams, and London Ever After.

How about a sport romance?

My first-ever sports romance, Hotshot, is an irresistible romance about the beautiful game. It also features many hot ladies in shorts. You’re welcome.

Love a village romance?

Then you should spend some time in Sandy Cove with Kirsty McBride & friends in One Golden Summer; or the inhabitants of Upper Chewford – particularly Ellie and Natalie – in my Cotswold romance,  A Taste Of Love. Or try It Started With A Kiss, my sunshine sapphic romance in a Surrey vineyard.

Fancy something snowy and festive?

My brand-new rom-com, The Christmas Catch, is so festive, it’s like liquid tinsel pumped into your veins. If you love riotious road trips, red-hot attraction, mad cows and nipple bells, this is for you. Festive feels are also in plentiful supply in my small-town holiday romance, Christmas In Mistletoe. When you’ve read that,  All I Want For Christmas has bad dates, crafty exes, and the most awkward, cringe-worthy sex scene I’ve ever written. Warning: your sides may split.

How about a lesbian royal romance?

When Princess Olivia Charlton runs from her arranged marriage, she doesn’t expect to fall in love with the local Cornish cafe owner. But can Olivia and Rosie find their happy ever after when all the odds are stacked against them? Find out in Once Upon A Princess.

Want something a little more ensemble, like The Big Chill/Peter’s Friends?

The Long Weekend is my cult classic. Nine friends, four days, secrets, lies, wine. If you fancy a weekend away and being at the centre of the action, try this.

Want to read six books that chart the first two years of one couple’s relationship?

Then you need to read the The All I Want Series. The books detail Tori & Holly’s first Christmas, first Valentine’s, first trip abroad, first pride and first trauma, as well as their first big relationship challenge. Laughs? Tick. Steamy sex? Tick. Breakdowns, make-ups, desires & disasters? Tick, tickey, tick! The series order is as follows: All I Want For Christmas, All I Want For Valentine’s, All I Want For Spring, All I Want For Summer, All I Want For Autumn, All I Want Forever.